Utility Interconnection Rule 5.500


VEPP INC. strongly encourages proponents to contact the Interconnecting Utility prior to submitting a bid in response to the Standard Offer RFP.  Some of the utilities may have new interconnection requirements.  For example, one utility is, in some instances, requiring a direct transfer trip connected to its fiber communication system.  These requirements may add substantially to the cost of the project such that the viability of the project may be impacted.

  • 5/8/2017 - Commission Rule 5.500 Interconnection Procedures Workshop Summary and Request for Comments - Public Utility Commission summary of workshop held on May 2, 2017. Commission requests information from the Vermont electric distribution utilities, to be filed by no later than June 2, 2017. In addition, other non-utility participants may provide additional comments concerning this rulemaking may be filed with the Board by June 16, 2017.
  • 4/21/2017 - Interconnection Procedures Workshop - On April 25, 2016, the Vermont Public Utility Commission opened a proceeding to adopt revisions to Commission Rule 5.500 regarding interconnection procedures. The Commission will conduct a workshop to discuss this draft on Tuesday, May 2, 2017, at 10:00 AM.

A list of the contacts for the Interconnecting Utilities is provided below:

Burlington Electric Department 802-866-7321      Munir Kasti
Green Mountain Power Corp. 802-770-3250      Michael Butler
Stowe Electric 802-253-7215      Dave Kresock
Washington Electric Coop 800-223-6780      Dan Weston
Vermont Electric Coop 802-730-1155      Dean Denis
Barton Village, Inc. 802-525-4748      Evan Riordan
Village of Enosburg Falls Electric Dept. 802-933-4443      Jonathan Elwell
Hardwick Electric Department 802-472-5201      Brian Forant
Village of Hyde Park 802-888-2310      Carol Robertson
Village of Jacksonville Electric Company 802-368-7010      Joseph Winter
Village of Johnson Electric Department 802-635-2611
     Merideth Birkett
Ludlow Electric Light Department 802-228-7766      Howard R. Barton
Lyndonville Electric Department 802-626-3366      Bill Humphrey
Morrisville Water & Light Department 802-888-3348      Craig Myotte
Town of Northfield 802-485-6121      Jeff Schulz
Village of Orleans 802-754-8584      John Morley, III
Swanton Village Electric Department 802-868-3397      Reginald Beliveau